Fighting

​In the middle of the storm I saw the light

I realized what I was fighting for…

I fought for them

I fought for me

I fought for the broken and the healed

For every tear that tried to fall

I fought for little girls

And gentle grandfatherly saviors

For every time my grandmother 

Held me tight 

I fought to survive

And live to listen to her laughter

I fought so I might love again.

I became fierce and saved the broken

Who had no strength left to fight off

The demons.

And I can’t say that I was ever sorry for

The way I fought so hard

For me this was never a choice

Just the way I am

Leave a Reply

