Never. (Poem)

I am …

Going to fly like 

I’ve never been on the ground

Live as if 

I never felt like dying 

Write like 

You don’t even know who I am

Love myself like 

No one ever told me I was imperfect 

Climb up as if 

No one ever told me it was impossible 

Like I never been told no

Like I’ve never been hit

Like I never heard shit

Sing like 

I never knew anyone was listening 

Dance without 

Looking for my feet

Love without 

Knowing the feeling of being broken

Hoping without 

Having felt hopeless

 

Keep my mind open as if 

No one ever tried to teach me to close it.

Stay here as if 

I never wanted to leave

Listen to the music as if 

I never heard a song before

Live in a rainbow as if 

No one ever told there was only black and white 

Release like 

I was never kept confined 

Dig myself deep as if 

I’d never been mined

Save you as if 

You had never been lost

Cover you as if 

You had never been cold

Start a fire in your soul as if 

You had never seen the light put out.

Speak as if

You weren’t even listening

Perform as if 

There has never been an audience watching

Tell the truth as if

No one ever tried to murder me while lying

 

I am going to live as if 

I had never felt like dying.


Leave a Reply

